Deep Care logo white
Deep Care Logo

Why exercise is so important in the workplace

May 28, 2024
Young woman doing a movement exercise at her workplace

In today's working world, many of us spend the majority of the day sitting in front of a computer. However, this sedentary lifestyle can entail considerable health risks. Sitting for too long and being inactive is a risk factor for various ailments and diseases. A new Study According to a study by the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), the risk is even higher when working from home than in the office. In the following, we explain why sufficient movement at work is so important, what risks arise from a lack of movement and how you can ensure more movement in the workplace.

These are the risks of lack of exercise

Too little movement in the workplace can entail considerable health risks. Sitting for too long and a lack of physical activity are closely linked to various health problems. Below are four of the most common risks caused by a lack of physical activity.

1. increased risk of cardiovascular disease

Lack of exercise leads to reduced cardiovascular fitness and increases the risk of cardiovascular diseases such as heart attack and stroke. A study by the American Heart Association shows that sitting for too long is significantly associated with an increased risk of cardiovascular disease. Source: American Heart Association.

Source: Sitting Time and All-Cause Mortality Risk in 222 497 Australian Adults

2. weight gain and obesity

Prolonged sitting and lack of exercise can lead to a negative energy balance and thus to weight gain and obesity or diabetes. A study in the "Journal of Physical Activity and Health" found that people who sit a lot have a higher risk of obesity.

Source:  Journal of Physical Activity and Health. Sedentary Behaviour and Obesity in Adults: A Systematic Review

3. muscular and skeletal disorders

Chronic lack of exercise can lead to musculoskeletal disorders such as back pain, osteoarthritis, neck tension and joint problems. Research in the "Journal of Occupational Health Psychology" shows that prolonged sitting is associated with increased muscular complaints and back pain. 

Source: Journal of Occupational Health Psychology. Sitting Time and Musculoskeletal Pain: A Longitudinal Study

4. deterioration of mental health

Prolonged sitting and lack of exercise can also have negative effects on mental health, including a higher risk of depression and anxiety. According to a study published in the Journal of Epidemiology and Community Health, lack of exercise may be associated with poorer mental health and a higher risk of depression.

Source:  British Journal of Sports Medicine. Sedentary Behaviour and the Risk of Depression: A Meta-analysis

Employee sits at her desk and holds her back in pain

Benefits of more movement in everyday office life

1. muscle building

Exercise in the office helps to strengthen the muscles. People who sit a lot should make sure they activate their muscles several times a day to prevent muscle loss. Strong muscles support a healthy posture and help you to cope better with the stresses and strains of everyday life.

2. release tension

Sitting for long periods of time often leads to tension, particularly in the neck and shoulder area. This tension can lead to back pain and limited mobility. Regular movement and stretching exercises can relieve such tension and have a positive effect on posture. 

3. prevent or reduce back and neck pain

Back and neck pain are widespread complaints among people with an office job and a lack of exercise. One reason for this is the one-sided strain caused by sitting for long periods of time. You can do something good for your back with various techniques, such as dynamic sitting!

4. avoid unbalanced loads

One-sided strain caused by repetitive movements or prolonged sitting can lead to poor posture and muscular imbalances in the long term. To avoid this, it is important to change your sitting position several times an hour and integrate different movements into your working day. For example, stand up every 30 minutes, stretch and take a few steps.

5. prevent cardiovascular diseases

Sitting for long periods is not only bad for the muscles and musculoskeletal system, but also increases the risk of cardiovascular disease. Regular exercise promotes blood circulation and supports the cardiovascular system. Even short bursts of exercise, such as a short walk during your lunch break or taking the stairs instead of the lift, can help to reduce the risk.

6. body and mind stay fit

Regular exercise is important to keep both the body and the mind fit. Exercise activates the muscles, promotes blood circulation and ensures that more oxygen reaches the brain. This in turn increases concentration and mental performance. If you move more often, you will feel more alert, more attentive and better able to concentrate on your tasks. Exercise can also help to reduce stress and improve your general well-being, for example by reducing excess weight and making sport more of a priority.

7. circulation gets going

Sitting for long periods slows down the circulation and can lead to reduced blood flow. This in turn can lead to various health problems such as varicose veins, thrombosis and an increased risk of cardiovascular disease. Regular exercise gets your circulation going and improves blood circulation. Even short, crisp bursts of exercise where you get up and move around can make a big difference and help to boost your metabolism.

How to stay fit in the office and get more exercise at work: 16 tips for more exercise

Integrating more movement into everyday office life doesn't have to be complicated. Often it is the small changes, that make a big difference. Here are some simple and practical tips to increase your daily activity in the office:

1. change of posture/dynamic sitting

A frequent change of posture helps to relieve the muscles and promote blood circulation. Use an exercise ball or an ergonomic chair to sit dynamically and change your sitting position occasionally. Always make sure you have a good sitting posture to keep your spine healthy and avoid sitting too statically.

2. work standing up from time to time

Standing desks or height-adjustable desks allow you to spend parts of your working day standing up. This reduces the strain of sitting for long periods and promotes better posture. Even if you have an ergonomic office chair, you should occasionally work standing up.

Young woman works at a high table in her home office

3. stand up and move around during phone calls

Phone calls are an ideal opportunity to get up and move around a bit. Walk around the room during the call or do a few stretching exercises. This is a simple way to get more movement in the workplace.

4. circle your head, neck and shoulders approx. every 30 minutes

Make it a habit to do short movement exercises every 30 minutes. Circle your shoulders, head and neck to relieve tension, improve circulation and do something good for your body.

5. plan regular exercise breaks (it is best to set up a reminder), 3-5 minutes per break is sufficient

Plan fixed exercise breaks into your working day. Set reminders on your mobile phone or computer to make sure you don't forget to take these breaks. Just 3-5 minutes of exercise can help to increase concentration and prevent tension.

6. organise your workplace so that you have to get up from time to time (e.g. place wastepaper basket and documents further away)

Set up your workstation so that you have to get up from time to time. Place frequently used objects, such as printers or files, further away so that you can move around from time to time.

7. take every opportunity to get up (go to the printer, etc.)

Take every opportunity to get up. Go to the printer, get yourself a glass of water or speak to a colleague in person instead of writing an e-mail. Your intervertebral discs and your back will thank you for it.

8. stand-up meetings: why not suggest to the team that they hold the meeting standing up?

Stand-up meetings are not only shorter and more efficient, they also encourage movement. Suggest that your team hold meetings standing up to increase concentration and reduce sitting time. 

9. do creative tasks while standing or walking around

Many creative tasks can be done while standing or walking. Use whiteboards or pinboards to visualise ideas while moving around.

10. back to the analogue format: instead of just writing everything down digitally, get up and use the whiteboard or post-its on the wall to plan projects

Work more often with analogue tools such as whiteboards or post-its. This not only encourages creativity, but also forces you to get up and move around and do something good for your body.

11. collegial walks during the lunch break

Arrange to meet up with colleagues for a short walk in the fresh air. This not only promotes exercise, but also social interaction and team spirit. It doesn't always have to be an intensive sports session. Walks can also keep you fit!

12. park further away or get off one stop earlier or come by bike

Park your car a little further away or get off public transport one stop earlier to incorporate extra exercise. If possible, cycle to work. 

13. encourage the team to develop movement rituals together, e.g. short stretching at the end of the meeting

Shared movement rituals promote a sense of community and motivation. Do stretching exercises or other short movement units together at the end of a meeting. Motivate and encourage each other and your team to move more.

14. have a Theraband or small dumbbells under your desk to do a few strengthening exercises in between

Keep a Theraband or small dumbbells handy under your desk. Use these to do simple strengthening exercises in between. Here too, short 3-5 minute routines are completely sufficient.

15. plan active team events or team-building measures

Plan active team events or team-building measures that include exercise. Whether it's hiking together, a sports tournament or a fitness workshop - such activities promote health and team cohesion.

Young woman does exercise at work with Isa

16. ISA at the workplace

ISA is the smart solution for more movement in the office and a healthy, balanced working day. With ISA, you can improve your well-being with AI-supported health coaching that intuitively integrates healthy routines and dynamic sitting into your daily work routine. Fit in the office made easy with ISA!

Conclusion: Movement in the office doesn't have to be complicated!

By integrating these tips and exercises into your daily work routine, you can not only improve your health and well-being, but also increase your productivity and satisfaction at work. Remember: every step counts and even small changes can have a big impact! The good news is: it doesn't have to be complicated or strenuous! Our valuable tips will help you stay fit at work.

This might also interest you

Stay informed ...

DeepDive BGM

Receive our latest monthly blogs and carefully curated articles on workplace prevention.

Stay up to date

Deep Care Logo weiss
Deep Care Logo

Darum ist Bewegung am Arbeitsplatz so wichtig

Mai 28, 2024
Junge Frau macht eine Bewegungsübung an ihrem Arbeitsplatz

In der heutigen Arbeitswelt verbringen viele von uns den Großteil des Tages sitzend vor dem Computer. Diese sitzende Lebensweise kann jedoch erhebliche gesundheitliche Risiken mit sich bringen. Zu langes Sitzen und Inaktivität ist ein Risikofaktor für verschiedene Beschwerden und Krankheiten. Einer neuen Studie des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) zufolge, ist das Risiko im Homeoffice sogar noch höher als im Büro. Im Folgenden erläutern wir, warum ausreichend Bewegung beim Arbeiten so wichtig ist, welche Risiken durch mangelnde Bewegung entstehen und wie Sie für mehr Bewegung am Arbeitsplatz sorgen können.

Diese Risiken bringt Bewegungsmangel

Zu wenig Bewegung am Arbeitsplatz kann erhebliche gesundheitliche Risiken mit sich bringen. Zu langes Sitzen und fehlende körperliche Aktivität sind eng mit verschiedenen gesundheitlichen Problemen verknüpft. Im Folgenden sind vier der häufigsten Risiken aufgeführt, die durch Bewegungsmangel entstehen.

1. Erhöhtes Risiko für Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen

Bewegungsmangel führt zu einer verminderten Herz-Kreislauf-Fitness und erhöht das Risiko für Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen wie Herzinfarkt und Schlaganfall. Eine Studie der American Heart Association zeigt, dass zu langes Sitzen signifikant mit einem erhöhten Risiko für kardiovaskuläre Erkrankungen verbunden ist . Quelle: American Heart Association.

Quelle: Sitting Time and All-Cause Mortality Risk in 222 497 Australian Adults

2. Gewichtszunahme und Adipositas

Langes Sitzen und fehlende Bewegung können zu einer negativen Energiebilanz und damit zu Gewichtszunahme und Adipositas oder Diabetes führen. Eine Studie im „Journal of Physical Activity and Health“ hat festgestellt, dass Personen, die viel sitzen, ein höheres Risiko für Fettleibigkeit haben.

Quelle:  Journal of Physical Activity and Health. Sedentary Behavior and Obesity in Adults: A Systematic Review

3. Muskel- und Skeletterkrankungen

Chronischer Bewegungsmangel kann zu Muskel- und Skeletterkrankungen wie Rückenschmerzen, Arthrose Nackenverspannungen und Gelenkproblemen führen. Forschungen des „Journal of Occupational Health Psychology“ belegen, dass langes Sitzen mit erhöhten muskulären Beschwerden und Rückenschmerzen in Verbindung steht. 

Quelle: Journal of Occupational Health Psychology. Sitting Time and Musculoskeletal Pain: A Longitudinal Study

4. Verschlechterung der mentalen Gesundheit

Langes Sitzen und fehlende Bewegung können auch negative Auswirkungen auf die mentale Gesundheit haben, einschließlich eines höheren Risikos für Depressionen und Angstzustände. Laut einer Studie aus dem „Journal of Epidemiology and Community Health“ kann Bewegungsmangel mit einer schlechteren mentalen Gesundheit und einem höheren Risiko für Depressionen verbunden sein.

Quelle:  British Journal of Sports Medicine. Sedentary Behaviour and the Risk of Depression: A Meta-analysis

Mitarbeiterin sitzt am Schreibtisch und hält sich den Rücken vor Schmerzen

Vorteile von mehr Bewegung im Büroalltag

1. Muskelaufbau

Bewegung im Büro hilft, die Muskulatur zu stärken. Gerade wer viel sitzt, sollte darauf achten, seine Muskeln mehrmals pro Tag zu aktivieren, um Muskelabbau vorzubeugen. Starke Muskeln unterstützen eine gesunde Körperhaltung und helfen, die Belastungen des Alltags besser zu bewältigen.

2. Verspannungen lösen

Langes Sitzen führt häufig zu Verspannungen, insbesondere im Nacken- und Schulterbereich. Diese Verspannungen können zu Rückenschmerzen und eingeschränkter Beweglichkeit führen. Durch regelmäßige Bewegung und Dehnübungen können Sie solche Verspannungen lösen und einen positiven Effekt auf die Körperhaltungen verspüren. 

3. Rücken- und Nackenschmerzen vorbeugen oder reduzieren

Rücken- und Nackenschmerzen sind weit verbreitete Beschwerden bei Menschen mit einem Bürojob und Bewegungsmangel. Ein Grund dafür ist die einseitige Belastung durch das lange Sitzen. Durch verschiedene Techniken, wie zum Beispiel dynamisches Sitzen, können sie Ihrem Rücken etwas gutes tun!

4. Einseitige Belastungen vermeiden

Einseitige Belastungen, die durch wiederholte Bewegungen oder dauerhaftes Sitzen entstehen, können langfristig zu Fehlhaltungen und muskulären Dysbalancen führen. Um dies zu vermeiden, ist es wichtig, mehrmals pro Stunde die Sitzposition zu wechseln und verschiedene Bewegungen in den Arbeitsalltag zu integrieren. Stehen Sie beispielsweise alle 30 Minuten auf, strecken Sie sich und gehen Sie ein paar Schritte.

5. Herz Kreislauf Erkrankungen vorbeugen

Langes Sitzen ist nicht nur schlecht für die Muskulatur und den Bewegungsapparat, sondern erhöht auch das Risiko für Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen. Regelmäßige Bewegung fördert die Durchblutung und unterstützt das Herz-Kreislauf-System. Schon kurze Bewegungseinheiten, wie ein kurzer Spaziergang in der Mittagspause, oder ein paar Treppenstufen anstelle des Fahrstuhls, können helfen, das Risiko zu senken.

6. Körper und Geist bleiben fit

Regelmäßige Bewegung ist wichtig, um sowohl den Körper als auch den Geist fit zu halten. Bewegung aktiviert die Muskulatur, fördert die Durchblutung und sorgt dafür, dass mehr Sauerstoff ins Gehirn gelangt. Dies wiederum steigert die Konzentration und die geistige Leistungsfähigkeit. Wenn Sie sich häufiger bewegen, werden Sie sich wacher, aufmerksamer fühlen und können sich besser auf Ihre Aufgaben konzentrieren. Zudem kann Bewegung helfen, Stress abzubauen und das allgemeine Wohlbefinden zu steigern, indem zum Beispiel Übergewicht reduziert wird und Sport mehr in den Vordergrund rückt.

7. Kreislauf kommt in Schwung

Langes Sitzen verlangsamt den Kreislauf und kann zu einer verminderten Blutzirkulation führen. Dies kann wiederum zu verschiedenen Gesundheitsproblemen wie Krampfadern, Thrombosen und einem erhöhten Risiko für Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen führen. Regelmäßige Bewegung bringt Ihren Kreislauf in Schwung und verbessert die Blutzirkulation. Schon kurze, knackige Bewegungspausen, in denen Sie aufstehen und sich bewegen, können einen großen Unterschied machen und dazu beitragen, den Stoffwechsel anzuregen.

So bleiben Sie fit im Büro und sorgen für mehr Bewegung am Arbeitsplatz: 16 Tipps für mehr Bewegung

Die Integration von mehr Bewegung in den Büroalltag muss nicht kompliziert sein. Oft sind es die kleinen Veränderungen, die einen großen Unterschied machen. Hier sind einige einfache und praktische Tipps, um Ihre tägliche Aktivität im Büro zu steigern:

1. Haltungswechsel/Dynamisches Sitzen

Ein häufiger Haltungswechsel hilft, die Muskulatur zu entlasten und die Durchblutung zu fördern. Verwenden Sie einen Gymnastikball oder einen ergonomischen Stuhl, um dynamisch zu sitzen und die Sitzposition gelegentlich zu verändern. Achten Sie zudem immer auf eine gute Sitzhaltung, um Ihre Wirbelsäule Gesund zu halten und vermeiden Sie zu statisches Sitzen.

2. Hin und wieder im Stehen arbeiten

Stehpulte oder höhenverstellbare Schreibtische ermöglichen es Ihnen, Teile Ihres Arbeitstages im Stehen zu verbringen. Dies reduziert die Belastung durch langes Sitzen und fördert eine bessere Haltung. Selbst wenn Sie einen ergonomischen Bürostuhl besitzen, sollten sie gelegentlich immer mal im stehen arbeiten.

Junge Frau arbeitet am Stehtisch im Homeoffice

3. Während Telefonaten aufstehen und sich bewegen

Telefonate sind eine ideale Gelegenheit, um aufzustehen und sich ein wenig zu bewegen. Gehen Sie während des Gesprächs durch den Raum oder machen Sie ein paar Dehnübungen. Dadurch können sie ganz einfach für mehr Bewegung am Arbeitsplatz sorgen.

4. Kopf, Nacken und Schultern kreisen, ca. alle 30 Minuten

Machen Sie es sich zur Gewohnheit, alle 30 Minuten kurze Bewegungsübungen durchzuführen. Kreisen Sie die Schultern, den Kopf und den Nacken, um Verspannungen zu lösen, die Durchblutung zu verbessern und Ihrem Körper etwas gutes zu tun.

5. Regelmäßige Bewegungspausen fest einplanen (am besten Erinnerung einrichten), 3-5 Minuten sind ausreichend pro Pause

Planen Sie feste Bewegungspausen in Ihren Arbeitstag ein. Stellen Sie Erinnerungen auf Ihrem Handy oder Computer ein, um sicherzustellen, dass Sie diese Pausen nicht vergessen. Schon 3-5 Minuten Bewegung können helfen, die Konzentration zu steigern und Verspannungen vorzubeugen.

6. Arbeitsplatz so gestalten, dass man hin und wieder aufstehen muss (z.B. Papierkorb und Unterlagen weiter weg platzieren)

Richten Sie Ihren Arbeitsplatz so ein, dass Sie hin und wieder mal aufstehen müssen. Platzieren Sie häufig benötigte Gegenstände, wie Drucker oder Akten weiter weg, um sich zwischendurch zu bewegen.

7. Jede Gelegenheit zum Aufstehen nutzen (zum Drucker gehen, etc.)

Nutzen Sie jede Gelegenheit, um aufzustehen. Gehen Sie zum Drucker, holen Sie sich ein Glas Wasser oder sprechen Sie persönlich mit einem Kollegen anstatt eine E-Mail zu schreiben. Ihre Bandscheiben und Ihr Rücken wird es Ihnen danken.

8. Stand-up-Meetings: Schlagen Sie doch im Team mal vor, das Meeting im Stehen abzuhalten

Stand-up-Meetings sind nicht nur kürzer und effizienter, sondern fördern auch die Bewegung. Schlagen Sie Ihrem Team vor, Meetings im Stehen abzuhalten, um die Konzentration zu steigern und die Sitzzeit zu reduzieren. 

9. Kreative Aufgaben im Stehen oder Umhergehen machen

Viele kreative Aufgaben lassen sich gut im Stehen oder Gehen erledigen. Nutzen Sie Whiteboards oder Pinnwände, um Ideen zu visualisieren und sich dabei zu bewegen.

10. Zurück zum analogen Format: Anstatt alles nur digital aufzuschreiben, stehen Sie auf und nutzen das Whiteboard oder Post-its an der Wand, um Projekte zu planen

Arbeiten Sie öfter mit analogen Hilfsmitteln wie Whiteboards oder Post-its. Dies fördert nicht nur die Kreativität, sondern zwingt Sie auch, aufzustehen und sich zu bewegen sowie ihrem Körper etwas gutes zu tun.

11. Kollegiale Spaziergänge in der Mittagspause

Verabreden Sie sich mit Kollegen zu einem kurzen Spaziergang an der frischen Luft. Dies fördert nicht nur die Bewegung, sondern auch den sozialen Austausch und das Teamgefühl. Es muss nicht immer eine intensive Sporteinheit sein. Auch Spaziergänge können fit halten!

12. Weiter weg parken oder eine Station früher aussteigen oder mit dem Rad kommen

Parken Sie Ihr Auto etwas weiter entfernt oder steigen Sie eine Station früher aus dem öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel aus, um zusätzliche Bewegung zu integrieren. Wenn möglich, fahren Sie mit dem Fahrrad zur Arbeit. 

13. Ermutigen Sie das Team, gemeinsam Bewegungsrituale zu entwickeln, z.B. kurzes Stretching am Ende des Meetings

Gemeinsame Bewegungsrituale fördern das Gemeinschaftsgefühl und die Motivation. Machen Sie am Ende eines Meetings gemeinsam Stretching-Übungen oder andere kurze Bewegungseinheiten. Motivieren und ermutigen sie sich und Ihr Team gegenseitig zu mehr Bewegung.

14. Ein Theraband oder kleine Hanteln unter dem Schreibtisch haben, um zwischendurch ein paar Kräftigungsübungen zu machen

Halten Sie ein Theraband oder kleine Hanteln unter Ihrem Schreibtisch bereit. Nutzen Sie diese, um zwischendurch einfache Kräftigungsübungen zu machen. Auch hier sind kurze 3-5 Minuten Routinen völlig ausreichend.

15. Aktive Team-Events oder Teambuilding-Maßnahmen planen

Planen Sie aktive Team-Events oder Teambuilding-Maßnahmen, die Bewegung beinhalten. Ob gemeinsames Wandern, ein Sportturnier oder ein Fitness-Workshop – solche Aktivitäten fördern die Gesundheit und den Teamzusammenhalt.

Junge Frau macht Bewegung am Arbeitsplatz mit Isa

16. ISA am Arbeitsplatz

ISA ist die smarte Lösung für mehr Bewegung im Büro und einen gesunden, ausgewogenen Arbeitsalltag. Mit ISA steigern Sie Ihr Wohlbefinden durch ein KI-gestütztes Gesundheitscoaching, das gesunde Routinen und dynamisches Sitzen intuitiv in den Arbeitsalltag integriert. Fit im Büro ganz leicht gemacht mit ISA!

Fazit: Bewegung im Büro muss nicht kompliziert sein!

Indem Sie diese Tipps und Übungen in Ihren Arbeitsalltag integrieren, können Sie nicht nur Ihre Gesundheit und Ihr Wohlbefinden steigern, sondern auch Ihre Produktivität und Zufriedenheit am Arbeitsplatz verbessern. Denken Sie daran: Jeder Schritt zählt und auch kleine Veränderungen können eine große Wirkung haben! Die gute Nachricht ist: Es muss nicht kompliziert oder anstrengend sein! Mit unseren wertvollen Tipps bleiben Sie fit am Arbeitsplatz.

Das könnte dich auch interessieren

Bleib informiert ...

DeepDive BGM

Erhalte monatlich unsere neuesten Blogs sowie sorgfältig kuratierte Beiträge zu betrieblicher Prävention.

Bleibe auf dem Laufenden